Photo credit: wikipedia
The legend of the True Cross The Basilica of San Francesco was built after 1322 and acquired a considerable reputation around 1450, when it was given to Piero della Francesca office to complete the decoration of the choir began to previously Bicci of Lawrence, who died leaving the work unfinished.
The theme chosen for the wall frescoes was “Legend of the True Cross”, where Piero della Francesca was able to give the subject of dramatic stretches well adapted to the contemplative personality of the artist, going to create a unique and unparalleled in its entirety in any other cycle of frescoes.
Tourists will notice that the episodes are not prepared to scale narrative, because the artist has chosen to place it by following the principles of symmetry.
The chapel of the church, has suffered considerable damage along the years, and moisture was heavily damaged areas and did remove the color from some parties. Despite everything, the tourist has the opportunity to admire one of the greatest masterpieces by Piero della Francesca, thanks mainly to a work of restoration lasted over ten years. The frescoes are also clearly visible from the nave of the church, but recommend to tourists to get as close as possible to appreciate the real beauty and mystics.
The Church of Saint Francis, while remaining a place of worship, is nowadays also a state museum.
For info regarding costs, times and reservations: www.pierodellafrancesca-ticketoffice.it